Systems Planning

Center of the City Task Force

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » Systems Planning » Asset Management » Center of the City Task Force


On November 6, 2018, voters approved Proposal A to amend the City Charter, which states that city-owned land bounded by Fifth Avenue, and William, Division and Liberty Streets, including Liberty Plaza, the surface of the Library Lane parking structure and Library Lane itself, “shall be retained in public ownership, in perpetuity, and developed as an urban central park and civic center commons known as the 'Center of the City;'"

In response, the City Council passed resolution R-19-135 to establish the Center of the City Task Force. The task force's charge is to convene with the goal of facilitating a shared vision of the Center of the City and develop a report with recommendations for City Council to advance the shared vision.

Current Status

The Task Force is now organizing and will soon be launching a public engagement and planning process to create the report. All members of the community are welcome and encouraged to attend Task Force meetings. The meetings that have occurred or are planned include:

Task Force Meeting 1 – Get Organized

August 1, 2019​
10 a.m.
City Council Chambers, 2nd Floor
301 E. Huron St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48104​

Agenda & Meeting Materials

Task Force Meeting 2 – Explore History of the Focus Area/Define Report Parameters

August 21, 2019
4 p.m.
Larcom City Hall Basement
301 E. Huron St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48104​​​

Task Force Meeting 3 – Develop a Public Engagement Plan

September 4, 2019
3 p.m.
Larcom City Hall Basement
301 E. Huron St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48104​​​


In accordance with the resolution to create the Task Force, two Council Members serving on the Parks Advisory Commission appointed members of the Task Force, including two members of City Council to serve as advisory members. The Task Force members are:

Hannah Boettcher
Ann Dilcher
Alan Haber
Jeff Hayner (council member)
Miles Klapthor
Carolyn Loh
Meghan Musolff
Lorri Sipes
Chip Smith (council member)
Norman Tyler
Dean Yang


The following links connect to previous planning documents, studies, presentations, and any other materials that offer context and information regarding the focus area.

Master Plan

Planning Commission resource documents


1989 Library Lot Task Force


Heather Seyfarth, AICP, MSW 
Community Engagement Specialist
City of Ann Arbor
301 E. Huron St. 
Ann Arbor, MI 48104 
734.794.6430 x42590​