City Council

City Council

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » City Council

​​​​​​Election Information     Boards and Commissions

City Council meets in regular session at 7 p.m. on the first and ​third Monday of every month. Council work sessions also take place monthly, generally on the second Monday. On occasion throughout the year, a Council meeting may instead be scheduled on a Tuesday or Thursday due to a federal-holiday Monday or Election Day Tuesdays. Please consult the Council calendar for the annual schedule.

Council Members

At its first meeting held under the new Charter, on April 16, 1956, Council formally adopted rules of procedure, which have, from time to time, been amended by resolution. The Rules of the Council and Pertinent Charter Provisions(PDF) define Council meeting rules, ethics, roles and more.

The mayor is elected on a partisan ballot every even year.* The mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council and appoints all Council committee members and members of many boards and commissions, with the approval of City Council.

The City Council consists of the mayor and 10 Council members, two from each of Ann Arbor's five wards. One half of City Council is elected in annual partisan elections. Members serve two-year terms.*

*November 2017 was the last odd-year Council election. Beginning in 2018, Council will have four-year terms, with staggered even year elections. The 2017 election only will be for a three-year term, expiring in 2020.

Contact your Council members using the individual email address links below. Alternatively, the preferred phone number for each member is also listed. All Council members and the mayor also receive written correspondence at: City of Ann Arbor, Attn: City Council, P.O. Box 8647, Ann Arbor, MI 48107.


To email the m​ayor and all members of Council, use this link: EMail Mayor and Council​When emailing Mayor and/or Council members, please include your telephone number and address to facilitate an appropriate response.​

Christopher Taylor (D)
301 E. Huron Street 48104

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018

Christopher Taylor

Anne Bannister (D)
612 N. Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI  48104

Term:  Nov.2017 - Nov. 2020


Sumi Kailasapathy (D)
2530 Mallard Ct., 48105

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018


 Sumi Kailasapathy


Jane Lumm (Independent)
3075 Overridge Drive 48104

 Term: Nov. 2017 - Nov. 2020

Jane Lumm

Kirk Westphal (D)
3505 Charter Place 48105

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018

 Kirk Westphal
Zachary Ackerman (D)
2004 Ferdon Rd. 48104

Term: Nov. 2017 - Nov. 2020

 Zackary Ackerman


Julie Grand (D)
1604 Brooklyn Ave. 48104

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018

 Julie Grand

Jack Eaton (D)
1606 Dicken Drive 48103  734-662-6083

Term: Nov. 2017 - Nov. 2020

Jack Eaton

Graydon Krapohl (D)
1502 Golden Avenue  48104

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018

 Graydon Krapohl

Chip Smith (D)
517 Krause St. 48103

Term: Nov. 2017 - Nov. 2020

 Chip Smith

Chuck Warpehoski (D)
2020 Winewood, 48103

Term: Nov. 2016 - Nov. 2018

Chuck Warpehoski

Election Information

City elections are held every fall on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November.* (The same day as national, state and county elections, which are held in even-numbered years.) To vote in a city election, you must be registered in the City of Ann Arbor. To register, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age by election day, and a resident of the Ci​ty of Ann Arbor for at least 30 days prior to election day. You need to register 30 days before an election. Absentee ballots and other election information may be obtained from the City Clerk's office. For more information, call 734.794.6140. View election Information.

*November 2017 will be the last odd-year Council election, at which time Council will begin to have staggered four-year terms, elected in even years. The 2017 election only will be for a three-year term.

Boards and Commissions

Ann Arbor boards, commissions and committees are an invaluable link between residents and city government. Their work helps to shape important policy for the community as a whole.​


​​​Ann Arbor City Council
Larcom City Hall
Third floor
City Council meets in the second floor Council chambers
301 E. Huron St. 

Assistant to the Mayor
Christine Schopieray
Fax: 734.994.8296

Email all of Council​ 

LGBTQ Liaison to the Mayor’s Office
Travis Radina