Historic District Commission


header image
Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » Planning » Historic Preservation » Historic District Commission

​​​​​​Members of the Commission ​

  • David Rochlen, Chair
  • Kathryn Fortener​, Vice Chair
  • Steve Kaplan, Secretary​​
  • Jennifer Ross
  • Benjamin Calderon
  • Chip Smith
The Historic District Commission is a body appointed by the Mayor and City Council, per the mandates of Public Act 169, Michigan's Enabling Legislation regarding local historic districts. The Historic District Commission is made up of 7 members, each one knowledgeable about preservation practices, whether they are professionally engaged as preservationists or not. Each Commissioner is appointed to three-year terms. Anyone interested in serving on the Historic District Commission should fill out an application online. Anyone interested in contacting Commissioners should call Mia Gale at 734.794.6000, x 42665 or email [email protected].

Please click 2024 HDC MEETING SCHEDULE for a list of Historic District Commission meeting dates.  ​
Page updated: March​ 2024