SharePoint

City Attorney's Office

Staff

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » City Attorney's Office » Staff
 

City Attorneys

Elias, Abigail
Chief Assistant City Attorney
aelias@a2gov.org
734.794.6188

Legal Assistant: Brink, Stephanie

Advises the Public Services Area

Handles matters involving water, sanitary sewer and storm sewer; cable and telecommunications; solid waste and recycling; energy; rights-of-way management; and related contracts.

____________________________________________________________

Fales, Mary Joan
Senior Assistant City Attorney
mfales@a2gov.org
734.794.6187

Legal Assistant: Yanga, Michele

Advises the Finance and Administrative Services Area; Safety Services Area (Office of Emergency Management); and Community Services Area (Parks).

____________________________________________________________

Frost, Christopher M.
Assistant City Attorney
cfrost@a2gov.org
734.794.6186

Legal Assistant: Yanga, Michele

Advises Boards and Commissions, Historic District Commission, and Easements.

____________________________________________________________

Larcom, Kristen D.
Senior Assistant City Attorney
klarcom@a2gov.org
734.794.6185

Legal Assistant: Allen, Jane

Advises the Safety Services Area:  Police and Fire Departments

Handles matters involving Public Nuisances, Housing, Building and Zoning Code Violations, Personal Property Taxes, and Michigan Tax Tribunal Appeals.

____________________________________________________________

McDonald, Kevin S.
Senior Assistant City Attorney
kmcdonald@a2gov.org
734.794.6183

Legal Assistant: Brink, Stephanie

Advises the Community Services Area primarily in the areas of planning and zoning, including land use and development; also advises related matters in community development and affordable housing.

____________________________________________________________

Niemela, Nancy L.
Senior Assistant City Attorney
nniemela@a2gov.org
734.794.6182

Legal Assistant: Allen, Jane

Advises Human Resources Services primarily on labor law matters.  Also provides related employment law advice.

____________________________________________________________

Postema, Stephen K.
City Attorney
spostema@a2gov.org
734.794.6189

Legal Assistant: Allen, Jane

Advises the Mayor, City Council, City Administrator, and oversees the City Attorney’s Office.

____________________________________________________________

Slay, Arianne E. 
Senior Assistant City Attorney
aslay@a2gov.org
734.794.6176

Legal and Docket Management Assistant: Harris, Shawn

Oversees 15th District Court criminal prosecutions and traffic tickets

Sobriety Court, Veterans Court, Street Outreach Court, Mental Health Court

Advises Safety Services Area:  Police and Fire Departments

Handles negligence and other lawsuits brought against the City

____________________________________________________________

Thomas, Matthew
Assistant City Attorney
mthomas@a2gov.org

Advises on FOIA issues and provides legal research to all attorneys.

____________________________________________________________

Support Staff

Allen, Jane
Legal Assistant
Contact person for:  Kristen Larcom, Nancy Niemela, and Stephen Postema
jallen@a2gov.org
734.794.6180

____________________________________________________________

Brink, Stephanie
Legal Assistant
Contact person for:  Abigail Elias and Kevin McDonald
sbrink@a2gov.org
734.794.6177

____________________________________________________________

Harris, Shawn
Legal and Docket Management Assistant
Contact person for:  Thomas Kent and the 15th District Court Docket
sharris@a2gov.org
734.794.6178

____________________________________________________________

Yanga, Michele
Legal Assistant
Contact person for:  Mary Joan Fales, Christopher Frost and Easement matters
myanga@a2gov.org
734.794.6179

​Larcom City Hall
301 E. Huron St.
Third Floor
Ann Arbor, MI 48107
734.794.6170
Fax: 734.994.4954