Systems Planning

Energy Commission

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » Systems Planning » Planning Areas » Energy » Energy Commission

​The Energy Commission is scheduled to meet monthly at 6pm on the second Tuesday of each month. View the Energy Comm​​ission's calendar for current meeting times and locations as well as agendas and meeting minutes.

What Does the Energy Commission Do?

The Energy Commission's charge is to:

  • Advise City Council on energy efficiency and renewable energy policies and programs
  • Create periodic public reports and recommendations for improving municipal and community energy efficiency and renewable energy
  • Prepare, adopt, amend, and transmit to City Council plans identifying municipal and community-based energy efficiency, renewable energy and other production projects
  • Research, formulate, and oversee community education programs
  • Identify and make recommendations regarding energy project financing options 

What is the Energy Commission Working on?

The Energy Commission works on various policies and programs targeted at increasing energy efficiency and renewable energy across the community. The commission's current subcommittees include: the Climate Action Plan, Community Solar, Nuclear, and Sustainable Funding.

Watch Live & Past Energy Commission Meetings 

Recent Energy Commission Reports

in 2016, the Solar Subcommittee of the Energy Commission released a report on how Ann Arbor can become a "Solar Ready Community". 

Solar Subcommittee Report to A2 City Council (PDF) 

How Do I Serve on the Energy Commission?

If you're interested in serving on the Energy Commission, please contact the mayor's office to submit an application

Commission Members

Up to date listings of all Commissions can also be viewed on the City's Legistar System website.



Wayne Appleyard (Chair)

Mark Clevey (Vice Chair) 

​Carlene Colvin-Garcia

​Jason Frenzel (Council Liaison)

​Charles Hookham

Charlotte Jameson

​Shoshannah Lenski

​Noah Levin 

Brigit Macomber

​John Mirsky
​Sarah Paleg

Mike Shriberg




Energy Office
301 E. Huron St.
P.O. Box 8647
Ann Arbor, MI 48107
(734) 794-6430 x43724

Commission meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month (except August).

Meeting Calendar