Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » Planning » Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

The purpose of the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) is to hear and decide appeals and to authorize variances from the strict application of the zoning, off-street parking, landscape, streets, storm water and fence ordinances. 

The ZBA is composed of nine members of the public, including one member of the City Council and one member of the City Planning Commission.  ZBA members serve three year terms.   

  • Candice Briere, Chair
  • Dave DeVarti, Vice Chair​
  • Charlotte Wilson
  • Michael Daniel
  • Todd Grant
  • Nicole Eisenmann
  • Elizabeth Nelson, Appointed by City Council
  • Chris Fraleigh
  • Vacancy

 Apply to Serve on the Zoning Board of Appeals​ 

Bylaws- Rules of the Zoning Board of Appeals (PDF)

Application Procedure and Forms

The Zoning Board of Appeals typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers of Larcom City Hall at 301 E Huron Street, Ann Arbor 48107. 

2020 Zoning Board of Appeals Meeting Schedule​ (PDF)

The Zoning Board of Appeals Application fees are as follows and are due at the time the application is filed.

    • Single & Two-Family: $750 per address
    • Multiple-Family & Commercial: $1,000 per address
    • Administrative Appeal: $1,000

Payment is accepted by check or by credit card. Please fill out the Payment Information portion of the application.

Applications must be received by noon of the due date.

Zoning Board of Appeals Application (PDF)


The Zoning Board of Appeals meeting schedule, packets, minutes and videos are available at the City of Ann Arbor's Legislative Information Center. 

  • Access the calendar page.
  • Select "Zoning Board of Appeals" from the drop-down menu at the top of the page.
  • Click on the "Search Calendar" button. 
  • Staff reports can be found by clicking the "Meeting Details" link for each meeting date.

For copies of minutes prior to September 2011, contact Mia Gale at 734.794.6000 x 42665 or email mgale@a2gov.org


Zoning Coordinator

Jon Barrett

734.794.6000 x42654


Zoning Board of Appeals Administrative Support:

Kristen Vander Lugt

734.794.6000 x42618