City Council

City Council

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » City Council
 

​​​​​Election Information     Boards and Commissions

City Council meets in regular session at 7 p.m. on the first and ​third Monday of every month. Council work sessions also take place monthly, generally on the second Monday. On occasion throughout the year, a Council meeting may instead be scheduled on a Tuesday or Thursday due to a federal-holiday Monday or Election Day Tuesdays. Please consult the Council calendar for the annual schedule.​

Council Members

At its first meeting held under the new Charter, on April 16, 1956, Council formally adopted rules of procedure, which have, from time to time, been amended by resolution. The Rules of the Council and Pertinent Charter Provisions (PDF) define Council meeting rules, ethics, roles and more.

The mayor is elected on a partisan ballot every four years concurrent with the Gubernatorial election. The mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council and appoints all Council committee members and members of many boards and commissions, with the approval of City Council.

The City Council consists of the mayor and 10 Council members, two from each of Ann Arbor's five wards. One half of City Council is elected every two years, concurrent with the State General Election, in partisan elections.

Contact your Council members using the individual email address links below. Alternatively, the preferred phone number for each member is also listed. All Council members and the mayor also receive written correspondence at: City of Ann Arbor, Attn: City Council, P.O. Box 8647, Ann Arbor, MI 48107.​​

To email the m​ayor and all members of Council, use this link: EMail Mayor and Council​When emailing Mayor and/or Council members, please include your telephone number and address to facilitate an appropriate response.​

MAYOR
Christopher Taylor (D)
301 E. Huron Street 48104
734-794-6161
CTaylor@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022

Christopher Taylor
  

WARD 1 
Lisa Disch (D)
441 Hilldale Dr. 48105

734-369-3571
LDisch@a2gov.org

Term:  Nov.2020 - Nov. 2024


 

Jeff Hayner (D)
1807 Pontiac Trail., 48105
(734) 255-6085
JHayner@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022

 

          

 ​

WARD 2
Linh Song (D)
1290 Bardstown Trail 48105

734-210-1396
LSong@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2020 - Nov. 2024

  

Kathy Griswold (D)
3565 Fox Hunt Dr., 48105

734-657-7900
KGriswold@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022


  

WARD 3
Travis Radina (D)
2060 Champagne Dr. 48108
TRadina@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2020 - Nov. 2024

 

Julie Grand (D)
1604 Brooklyn Ave. 48104
734-678-7567
JGrand@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022

Julie Grand
  

WARD 4
Jen Eyer (D)
716 Braeside Place 48103 

734-210-0765
JEyer@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2020 - Nov. 2024

  

Elizabeth Nelson (D)
1319 Ardmoor Ave., 48103
734-997-9688
ENelson@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022



 ​

WARD 5 
Erica Briggs (D)
204 Mark Hannah, 48103

734-355-3931
EBriggs@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2020 - Nov. 2024

 

Ali Ramlawi (D)
428 S. Seventh St., 48103
734-730-6062​
ARamlawi@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2018 - Nov. 2022



Election Information

City elections are held in even years on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. (The same day as national, state and county elections, which are held in even-numbered years.) To vote in a city election, you must be registered in the City of Ann Arbor. To register, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age by election day, and a resident of the Ci​ty of Ann Arbor for at least 30 days prior to election day. Residents can register by mail up to 15 days before each election or in person at the City Clerk's Office up to an including on Election Day. Absentee ballots and other election information may be obtained from the City Clerk's office. For more information, call 734.794.6140. View election Information.

Boards and Commissions

Ann Arbor boards, commissions and committees are an invaluable link between residents and city government. Their work helps to shape important policy for the community as a whole.​

​​

​​​Ann Arbor City Council
Larcom City Hall
Third floor
City Council meets in the second floor Council chambers
301 E. Huron St. 

Assistant to the Mayor
Christine Schopieray
734.794.6161 
Fax: 734.994.8296
cschopieray@a2gov.org

Email all of Council​ 

LGBTQ Liaison to the Mayor’s Office

Naomi Goldberg
734.277.4575
goldberg.naomi@gmail.com

 
​​