Housing Commission


header image
Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » Housing Commission

​ Subscribe for updates 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Follow us on ​Facebook and Twitter.

Ann Arbor Housing Commission

727 Miller Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Monday-Friday Hours:

9 a.m.-noon and 1-5 p.m.

Email: [email protected]
PH: 734.794.​​6720
Fax: 734.994.0781

Finance & Administrative Office

2000 S. Industrial Hwy
Ann Arbor, MI  48104

Monday-Friday Hours: 

8 a.m-4 p.m.

Email: [email protected]
PH: 734.794.6720 x47205
Fax: 734.996.​3018

Access the Listening Featu​​​​re

For web users with Adobe® Reader® : You can now listen to any PDF posted on this website as well as view them. To do so: Turn on the "Read Out Loud" function by going into the Adobe PDF document, clicking on "View," clicking on "Read Out Loud," then​ clicking on "Activate Read Out Loud." Once the function begins, you can either scroll through the document and the computer voice speaks the words, or highlight an area to be spoken by the computer.​ 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Agency Plan   ​​​     ​In the News         Public Notice         COVID-19 

Quick L​​inks ​​​​

Mission ​Statement

Diversity, equity and inclusion is important to the Ann Arbor Housing Commission's mission of providing affordable housing to low-income individuals and families and is critical to ensuring the well-being of our staff and the communities we serve. We strive to create an environment where employees are valued and empowered to positively support our mission. The Ann Arbor Housing Commission will advocate for public and private-sector policies that challenge systems that create inequity, oppression and disparity and work with community partners to bring about positive change.​

Black Lives Matter

The Ann Arbor Housing Commission (AAHC) supports the goals of the Black Lives Matter movement and other social justice movements to en​d systemic inequity and to support justice and equality for marginalized people, and in particular, black people. As a nonprofit organization and public housing authority, we provide affordable housing to low-income families and individuals. As a community service provider, it is our mission to support our families whose lives are impacted by systemic inequality. Read the full resolution.

Ann Arbor Housing Commission 

Agency Plan

The AAHC is dedicated to​ meeting the local housing needs and goals. Annually, the commission assesses the needs and creates a plan that addresses the policies, programs, operations and strategies required to meet those needs and goals. This comprehensive plan is required by HUD and is known as the Annual Agency Plan.

5YR Agency Plan FY20-24 (including Fiscal Year 2021 Annual Plan)

Public Notic​e

​AAHC Annual Agency Plan

The Ann Arbor Housing Commission (AAHC) has developed its Annual Agency Plan for FY22 – FY23 in compliance with the Quality Housing and Work Responsibility Act of 1998. A Public Hearing will be held on March 20, 2024, at 5:00 P.M. at 2000 S. Industrial Hwy, 48104 or you may Join by Zoom: 

Meeting URL: https://a2gov.zoom.us/j/94871339510?pwd=dnl0aktqVi93ZjlBNFpGNTEvT2VGUT09 
Meeting ID: 948 7133 9510
OR dial in to 877 853 5247 US Toll-free

The Annual Plan is available for review from January 20, 2024 to March 22, 2024 at the following locations in Ann Arbor:

  • Miller Manor-AAHC Main Office, 727 Miller Avenue, 48103
  • AAHC Admin and Financial Office, 2000 S. Industrial, 48104
  • Baker Commons Property Management Office, 106 Packard, 48104
​The Commission’s hours of operation are 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

Written comments will be accepted to Weneshia Brand at [email protected] or any Ann Arbor Housing Commission location listed above until March 22, 2024.

​Notice of Potential Job Opportunities Under Section 3 Program

Section 3 Notice 2023​​​​

In the New​s

HUD makes changes to income, assets, and public housing income limit rules that benefit tenants and reduces administrative burdens for public housing agencies (PHAs). Read the summary​​​

New study highlights success of Ann Arbor’s supportive housing model​​ (5/21/22)

$3M federal earmark to help Ann Arbor affordable housing sites go solar (3/24/22)​

​Affordable housing project at "Y" Lot (350 S 5th) updated (6/15/21)

Next steps ​for ​​developing 415 W Washington (​​6/3/21)​

​Ann Arbor DDA upgrades planned in coordination with affordable housing (3/24/21)​

Q&A: AAHC Director Jennifer Hall explains $397M​ affordable housing plan (1/8/21)​

Ann Arbor voters approve affordable housing millage (11/4/20)​

HUD RAD Case Study — AAHC

Expanding Access to Broadband​

Affordable Connectivity Program Outreach

HUD recently announced actions to expand broadband to more than 4 million HUD-assisted families, as part of the administration's outreach efforts on the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP). Households receiving HUD rental assistance qualify for ACP benefits, but to receive them, families need to enroll in the program at GetInternet.gov.  Find out more about the HUD Affordable Connectivity Program by visiting https://www.hud.gov/connecthomeusa.​

Waiting List Op​​ening​

AAHC will ONLY accept applications for Elderly Households. Elderly person MUST be at least 62 including spouse, co-head, and other adult for Lurie Terrace. Elderly applicants of Courthouse Square MUST be at least 55 however, the spouse, co-head, or other adult MUST be at least 50​. All applications will be reviewed to ensure that the applicant family size qualifies for the PBV unit and meets the age requirements, all other applications will be denied.


AAHC offers Preferences to Disabled, Homeless, and Washtenaw County resident households.​

All applications must be submitted online. Paper application are not accepted, no exceptions. If you require reasonable accommodation to complete an application, please call us at 734-794-6720.

ONLINE APPLICATIO​NS ARE AVAILABLE AT: https://housing.a2gov.org/

Please note: Applications are accepted online only through Commission’s web page. Applications can be completed through any computer with internet access and a valid email address. If you do not have an email address, please visit www.yahoo.com or www.gmail.comto set up and obtain a FREE email account. The application should take about 15-30 minutesDue to the volume of applications received, we are unable to provide information on application status by phone.

COVID-19 Not​ice

AAHC Offices During COVID-19

As of August 2, 2021 the Ann Arbor Housing Commission offices at 727 Miller (Miller Manor), 2000 S. Industrial, 106 Packard (Baker Commons), and 717 N Maple (West Arbor) will re-open. (We encourage everyone to wear a mask when entering all of our facilities.)

  • Staff are working both from home and in the office. Contact your Occupancy Specialist to confirm what days they are in the office.
  • All staff contact information is listed in the staff directory​.
  • Please contact our main phone line at 734 794-6720 for all concerns. If you leave a voicemail, staff are responding to voicemail and email from home.
  • If you have lost your job or have reduced income, please contact our office immediately so that we can complete an Interim Change Certification.
  • Documents and rent can be left in our locked drop boxes outside the front door at 2000 S. Industrial, at 727 Miller, and inside the front door at 106 Packard.
  • Additional outdoor locked boxes are installed at 1504 Broadway, 2724 Hikone​​, 880 S. Maple (Maple Meadows) and 717 N Maple (West Arbor).


Click here to reach out to one of our community's Barrier Busters agencies to help you pay your bills as soon as possible. A full list of Barrier Busters agencies can be found at Washtenaw.org/2818.

​AAHC Property Mai​​​ntenance

After hours work order li​​ne: 734.​​794.6720, ext. 2​​​​​