SharePoint

City Council

City Council

Skip Navigation LinksHome » Departments » City Council
 

​​​​​Election Information     Boards and Commissions

City Council meets in regular session at 7 p.m. on the first and ​third Monday of every month. Council work sessions also take place monthly, generally on the second Monday. On occasion throughout the year, a Council meeting may instead be scheduled on a Tuesday or Thursday due to a federal-holiday Monday or Election Day Tuesdays. Please consult the Council calendar for the annual schedule.

Council Members

At its first meeting held under the new Charter, on April 16, 1956, Council formally adopted rules of procedure, which have, from time to time, been amended by resolution. The Rules of the Council and Pertinent Charter Provisions(PDF) define Council meeting rules, ethics, roles and more.

The mayor is elected on a partisan ballot every even year. The mayor is the presiding officer of the City Council and appoints all Council committee members and members of many boards and commissions, with the approval of City Council.

The City Council consists of the mayor and 10 Council members, two from each of Ann Arbor's five wards. One half of City Council is elected in annual partisan elections. Members serve two-year terms.

Contact your Council members using the individual email address links below. Alternatively, the preferred phone number for each member is also listed. All Council members and the mayor also receive written correspondence at: City of Ann Arbor, Attn: City Council, P.O. Box 8647, Ann Arbor, MI 48107.

 

To email the m​ayor and all members of Council, use this link: EMail Mayor and Council​When emailing Mayor and/or Council members, please include your telephone number and address to facilitate an appropriate response.​

MAYOR
Christopher Taylor (D)
301 E. Huron Street 48104
734-794-6161
CTaylor@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2016

Christopher Taylor
  

WARD 1
Sabra Briere (D)
1418 Broadway 48105
734-995-3518
Sbriere@a2gov.org 

Term: Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017

 Photo: Sabra Briere
  

Sumi Kailasapathy (D)
2530 Mallard Ct., 48105
734-769-5698
SKailasapathy@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014- Nov. 2016

 

 Sumi Kailasapathy

 ​

WARD 2
Jane Lumm (Independent)
3075 Overridge Drive 48104
734-677-4010
JLumm@a2gov.org

 Term: Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017

Jane Lumm
  

Kirk Westphal (D)
3505 Charter Place 48105
734-660-9955
KWestphal@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2016

 Kirk Westphal
  
WARD 3
Zachary Ackerman (D)
2004 Ferdon Rd. 48104
734-883-8391
ZAckerman@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017

 Zackary Ackerman

  

Julie Grand (D)
1604 Brooklyn Ave. 48104
734-678-7567
JGrand@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2016

 Julie Grand
  

WARD 4
Jack Eaton (D)
1606 Dicken Drive 48103  734-662-6083
JEaton@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017

Jack Eaton
  

Graydon Krapohl (D)
1502 Golden Avenue  48104
734-998-1102 
GKrapohl@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2016

 Graydon Krapohl
 ​ 

WARD 5 
Chip Smith (D)
517 Krause St. 48103
734-709-2022
ChSmith@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2015 - Nov. 2017

 Chip Smith

Chuck Warpehoski (D)
2020 Winewood, 48103
734-972-8304
CWarpehoski@a2gov.org

Term: Nov. 2014 - Nov. 2016

Chuck Warpehoski


Election Information

City elections are held every fall on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. (The same day as national, state and county elections, which are held in even-numbered years.) To vote in a city election, you must be registered in the City of Ann Arbor. To register, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age by election day, and a resident of the Ci​ty of Ann Arbor for at least 30 days prior to election day. You need to register 30 days before an election. Absentee ballots and other election information may be obtained from the City Clerk's office. For more information, call 734.794.6140. View election Information.

Boards and Commissions

Ann Arbor boards, commissions and committees are an invaluable link between residents and city government. Their work helps to shape important policy for the community as a whole.​

​​

​​​Ann Arbor City Council
Larcom City Hall
Third floor
City Council meets in the second floor Council chambers
301 E. Huron St. 

Assistant to the Mayor
Christine Schopieray
734.794.6161 
Fax: 734.994.8296
cschopieray@a2gov.org

Email all of Council​ 

LGBTQ Liaison to the Mayor’s Office
Bradley O’Furey
734.995.9867
​​